Go back to the list
14 May 2019

Motu proprio “Vos estis lux mundi”

Montreal, May 14, 2019 – The Canadian Religious Conference welcomes the Motu proprio “Vos estis lux mundi” as another step forward in ensuring that the Church is a place of safety for minors and vulnerable adults.

We support the requirement that procedures for reporting abuse are mandatory for clergy and religious. As well, it is appropriate that the definition of abuse includes the use of coercive power against persons of any age or sex.

We welcome that fact that religious superiors and bishops will be held accountable for their own conduct as well as their covering up the actions of others under their authority.

We invite bishops to include qualified lay people and religious in the structures of accountability to be set up in each diocese.

As leaders of religious congregations, we join with the Holy Father in acknowledging that: “a continuous and profound conversion of hearts is needed, attested by concrete and effective actions that involve everyone in the Church.”

About CRC

The Canadian Religious Conference is a network that brings together the leaders of 240 Catholic congregations of women and men religious in Canada. The CRC’s mission is to encourage its members to live fully their vocation in following Christ and to support them in their prophetic witness to justice and peace in a Canadian context.

-30-

Information:

Jean-Michel Bigou
Associate Director, communications
Telephone: 514 259-0856 Ext. 105

E-mail: communications@crc-canada.org
Website: www.crc-canada.org

DOWNLOAD THE PRESS RELEASE

Revenir à la liste

Motu proprio « Vos estis lux mundi »

Montréal, 14 mai 2019 – La Conférence religieuse canadienne accueille le Motu proprio du Saint-Père « Vos estis lux mundi » comme une nouvelle étape pour faire de l’Église un lieu sûr et sécuritaire pour les mineurs et les adultes vulnérables.

Nous appuyons la décision de rendre obligatoire les procédures de signalement des abus pour le clergé, les religieuses et les religieux. Il est également juste d’avoir inclus dans la définition des abus l’exercice d’un pouvoir coercitif sur des personnes de tout âge ou sexe.

Nous apprécions le fait que les supérieures et supérieurs religieux ainsi que les évêques seront tenus pour responsables de leur propre conduite et de la dissimulation d’actes répréhensibles de personnes sous leur autorité.

Nous invitons les évêques à intégrer des personnes consacrées et laïques qualifiées dans les structures de responsabilisation qui seront établies dans chaque diocèse.

En tant que responsables de congrégations religieuses, nous nous associons pleinement aux paroles du Saint-Père qui nous invite à « une conversion continue et profonde des cœurs, attestée par des actions concrètes et efficaces qui impliquent chacun dans l’Église ».

À propos de la CRC

La CRC est une association qui regroupe les leaders de 240 congrégations de religieuses et religieux présentes au Canada. Elle a pour mission d’encourager ses membres à vivre pleinement leur vocation à la suite du Christ et de les soutenir dans leur témoignage prophétique de justice et de paix au sein de la société et de l’Église.

-30-

Informations :

Jean-Michel Bigou
Directeur adjoint, communications
Téléphone : 514 259-0856 poste 105

Courriel : communications@crc-canada.org
Site Internet : www.crc-canada.org

TÉLÉCHARGER LE COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE